Applicant FAQs

Is there a maximum age limit?

No. There is no maximum age limit, but you must be 21 by the time you're appointed as a Police Officer

What steps are involved in the selection process?

Written Exam
Physical Agility Test
Polygraph
Two-Part Behavioral Assessment
Extensive Background Investigation
Home Interview
Medical Exam

What about the Academy?

28 weeks Long You will receive full medical benefits when you start the Academy. It is <u>not</u> a live in Academy.

What are the physical fitness requirements that need to be met in order to pass the academy?

You must pass the Ohio Police Officer Training Academy standards which are determined by age and gender. The run is a 1.5 mile distance run for time.

Do I have to live in Cincinnati to be a Cincinnati Police Officer?

No, but you must reside in one of the adjoining counties before you start the academy, which includes adjoining counties in Kentucky and Indiana.

Can I get veteran preference points?

Yes. Once you pass the entrance exam. You will receive 5 points for veterans or 10 points for disabled veterans.

To qualify you must present your DD214 with an Honorable Discharge and live in the State of Ohio at the time you apply to take the exam. (Other than Honorable or less of a discharge does not apply).

What are some of the qualifications to become a Cincinnati Police Officer?

21 years of age at time of appointment Must have a Valid Driver's License You must be in the U.S. legally No Felony Convictions

What are some of the main disqualifiers?

Not filling out Personal History Questionnaire (PHQ) completely:

- A. Applicants do not list ALL information when asked
- B. Applicants are not truthful about information that may not have disqualified them if they would have listed the information.
- C. Being deceptive and having a significant discrepancy between Polygraph and PHQ.

There are others but these few seem to stand out.