City Holiday Schedule & Trash Amnesty Weeks

2014 City Holidays

When your regular trash collection day falls on the date shown, your trash will be collected the following day.

Collections for the remainder of the week will be delayed one day.

  • Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2014: New Year's Day - Garbage collection for Wednesday, Thursday and Friday will be delayed by one day.
  • Monday, Jan. 20, 2014: Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Monday, Feb. 17, 2014: Presidents' Day
  • Monday, May 26, 2014: Memorial Day
  • Friday, July 4, 2014: Independence Day
  • Monday, Sept. 1, 2014: Labor Day
  • Monday, Oct. 13, 2014: Columbus Day - Service will not be altered. Monday collection will occur on Columbus Day.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2014: Veterans' Day:
  • Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014: Thanksgiving
  • Thursday, Dec. 25, 2014: Christmas - Garbage collection for Thursday and Friday will be delayed by one day.
  • Thursday, Jan. 1, 2015: New Year's Day - Garbage collection for Thursday and Friday will be delayed by one day.

Trash Amnesty Weeks

During Trash Amnesty Weeks, residents may set out additional trash in sealed plastic trash bags next to their approved City-provided container. Amnesty weeks are centered around holidays when households typically generate more trash than normal.

Upcoming amnesty days include:

  • Memorial Day: May 27 to May 31, 2014
  • Independence Day: July 5 to July 11, 2014
  • Labor Day: Sept. 2 to Sept. 6, 2014
  • Thanksgiving: Nov. 29 to Dec. 5, 2014
  • Winter Holidays: Dec. 26, 2014 to Jan. 2, 2015

(Note: Even during Amnesty Weeks, bulky items must still be scheduled for special pickup.)