May. 9




Awards Banquet 7:00 p.m. Friday May 9 at F.O.P. Queen City Lodge #69

Ceremonies Begin 11:00 a.m. Monday May 12 at Fountain Square

Open Houses at Each District


Members of law enforcement have come together with the citizens they serve for more than fifty years to recognize the dedication of peace officers and to honor those killed in the line of duty.  In 1962 President John Kennedy signed the proclamation declaring May 15 Peace Officers Memorial Day, and the week has come to be known as National Police Week.  Ceremonies and events bring the community together to honor those who serve and those who have made the ultimate sacrifice.

Awards Banquet 7:00 p.m. Friday May 9 at F.O.P. Queen City Lodge #69

A traditional part of Police Memorial Week is the presentation of Hamilton County Law Enforcement Community’s Police Appreciation and Achievement Awards that recognize outstanding achievement in several categories of law enforcement endeavors.  These awards will be presented at the 47th annual awards banquet Friday May 9 at FOP Queen City Lodge #69, 1900 Central Parkway.  Honorees this year are

ACT OF BRAVERY:  Officer Nicholas Hoevel of the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office and Lieutenant Tom Ostendarp of the Mariemont Police Department

CONTRIBUTION TO LAW ENFORCEMENT:  Cincinnati Police Department’s Fugitive Apprehension Squad:  Specialist Timothy Bley, Specialist Daniel Cavanaugh, Officer Robert Ahlers, Officer Scott Bode and Officer Amber Bolte

OUTSTANDING JOB OF TRAFFIC ENFORCEMENT/EDUCATION:  Lieutenant Rick Neville, Lieutenant Tory Smith, Lieutenant Tony Orue, Sergeant Mike Tarr, Corporal Brian Shepherd, Corporal Pete Prybal, Corporal Cyndi Zoellner, Corporal Mike Stenger, Corporal Tom Lange, Corporal Randy Bernhardt, Officer Jerry Brandhorst, Officer Caroline Kotlas, Officer Josh Fey, and Officer Vanessa Lee of the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office; and Officer Mark Meyer and Officer Patrick Quinn of Colerain Township Police Department

BEST OVERALL INVESTIGATIVE JOB LEADING TO THE SOLUTION OF CRIME:  Supervisory Special Agent Douglas A. Williams, Special Agent Christopher Giordano, Special Agent Lance Rollins, Special Agent Christopher Brest, and Special Agent James R. Whalen of the FBI; Assistant US Attorney Karl Kadon; Sergeant George Pille, Officer Craig Copenhaver, Officer Jason O’Brien, and Officer Derrick Edwards of the Cincinnati Police Department

SUPERIOR ACHIEVEMENT IN POLICE LEADERSHIP:  Sergeant Daniel Hils of the Cincinnati Police Department


OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN DAILY OPERATIONS:  Officer Michael Rees of the Cincinnati Police Department

CITIZEN AWARD:  Mr. Jim Emig and Ms. Lisa McDonald

 Ceremonies and Parade Begin 11:00 a.m. Monday May 12 at Fountain Square

The many departments and agencies that make up Hamilton County’s Law Enforcement Community will hold their traditional Police Memorial observance Monday May 12.  Ceremonies at Fountain Square begin at 11:00 a.m. with the assembled Honor Guards’ call to order and a rendering of our national anthem.  Police Chaplain Rabbi Menachem Kalmanson will deliver the invocation, and then F.O.P. Queen City Lodge #69 President Kathy Harrell, Police Chief Jeffrey Blackwell, Interim City Manager Scott Stiles and Mayor John Cranley will offer brief remarks to those assembled.  Keynote speaker will be Hamilton County Coroner Lakshmi K. Sammarco MD.  Every aspect of the ceremonies underlines the themes of patriotism, service and dedication to duty. 

At the conclusion of the Fountain Square program, the parade will form with members of all area law enforcement agencies, their families, friends and supporters marching north on Vine Street to Central Parkway and west on Central Parkway to Ezzard Charles Drive and the Police Memorial. 

The changing of the guard will open the program at the Police Memorial.  Elements of the ceremonies symbolize loss and honor the memory of fallen officers:  presentation of floral tributes; the bugler sounding Taps; a flyover in the “missing man” formation; and a 21-gun salute.  Rabbi Kalmanson’s benediction will close the formal ceremonies. 

During the program at the Police Memorial, Police Chief Jeffrey Blackwell will present the Cincinnati Police Medal of Valor to seven Cincinnati officers for the courage, professionalism and dedication to duty they displayed during two incidents in 2013.  Medal of Valor recipients are Sergeant Brian Norris, Specialist Reginald Lane, Specialist Cecilia Charron, Officer Bryan Gabel, Officer Kelly Jackson, Officer Jayne Snelling and Officer William Springer.


Open Houses at Each District

During Police Memorial Week, open houses at each of the Cincinnati Police Districts allow citizens to meet the officers who work in their neighborhoods and to learn about some of the specialized units such as canine patrol and detection teams, Segway and bike patrol, and the Special Weapons and Tactics team.  The schedule for open houses at the Districts is as follows:

  • Monday           May 12 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.             District 1 and CBS
  • Tuesday          May 13 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.             District 2
  • Wednesday     May 14 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.             District 3
  • Thursday         May 15 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.             District 4
  • Friday              May 16 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.             District 5


Share Article: