Police Officer Recruiting
Cincinnati Police Department Officer Recruiting
The Cincinnati Police Department is not currently in the process of hiring for the position of police recruit.
You may have your name added to an interest list by contacting the Police Academy at 513-352-3562.
Applicants need not be a Hamilton County resident to apply. Appointees must be a Hamilton County resident by their date of appointment and maintain County residency for length of employment.
The Cincinnati Police Department is a community oriented agency dedicated to working in partnership with all citizens of the community. Great benefits, promotional opportunities, and an exciting career await you as a Cincinnati Police Officer!
The Cincinnati Police Department is national accredited through the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agency, Inc. (CALEA), which derives its general authority from the four major law enforcement membership associations: International Association of Chiefs of Police; National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives; National Sheriffs’ Association; and Police Executive Research Forum.
Police Recruits earn approximately $31,320 annually. Police Recruits are promoted to Police Officers after successful completion of 25 weeks of paid training at the Police Academy. In 2007, a police officer’s base salary started at approximately $46,100, with annual step pay increases over the next five years topping at approximately $55,799. In addition to base salaries are overtime earnings, court pay, certification pay, training allowance and night differential pay.
Uniform and Equipment
Employee Assistance Program
Deferred Compensation Plan
Deferred Retirement Option Plan
Credit for Military Service
Special credit for honorable military service is given to Ohio residents who achieve a passing score on the recruit test. Non-disabled veterans will receive five (5) points additional credit, and a disabled veteran will receive ten (10) points additional credit.
Police Academy graduates are credited with:
- 24-college semester hours from Xavier University towards a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice.
- 18-college hours from the University of Cincinnati towards a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice.
- 9-college hours from Northern Kentucky University towards an undergraduate major in Criminal Justice.
- 20-college credit hours from Daymar College toward an Associates of Science Degree in Criminal Justice.
- 45-college credit hours from Cincinnati State Technical and Community College towards an Associate of Technical Study degree.
- 22 semester hours from Thomas Moore College toward any degree.
Tuition reimbursement is available to all Police Officers.
Minimum Age Requirement
Applicants must be 21 years of age by date of appointment. The Police Department projects that the recruit class will begin in December 2007. Therefore, applicants will be accepted from individuals who have reached or will reach their 21st birthday by Dec. 1, 2008.
- Must be 21 years old
- High school diploma or GED (college preferred)
- Valid drivers license for at least one year
- Must successfully complete the selection process
- Must be a United States Citizen or applying for U.S. Citizenship