
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION  
 

 CMC Section 1106-21: Rules and Regulations. 
o The chief building official is authorized to establish rules, regulations and 

procedures consistent with the intent of this chapter, and to perform such 
duties as are necessary and appropriate to the administration of this 
chapter. Such rules and regulations shall include, but not be limited to, 
registration and application requirements, exemptions, application forms, 
contractor classifications and descriptions, late fees, assignment 
requirements, revocation, suspension or expiration of registration, 
insurance and bond requirements and chapter enforcement. Said rules, 
regulations and procedures shall not be inconsistent with the provisions of 
this chapter, the Cincinnati Municipal Code, or state and federal laws and 
regulations. 

 
In addition to all application forms and their related instructions, the following, is a list of 
the rules and regulations that are necessary and appropriate to the administration of 
section 1106 of the Cincinnati Municipal Code.  
 
Topic Contents: 
1. Contractor that are required to be registered 
2. Minimum information needed for registration. 
3. Company operating under more than one business name 
4. Contractor Registration with Multiple OCILB Licenses 

a. One individual with multiple state licenses 
b. One company with multiple state licensed individuals. 

5. Fees:  
a. Registration 
b. Same Day Processing Service 
c. Renewal 
d. Late Fees for Registration 
e. Changes to an Issued Registration 

6. Renewal and Expiration 
7. Inactive or Incomplete Applications 
8. Liability Insurance 
9. Registration Exemptions 
10. Landlords and Property Management Companies Exemptions 
11. Registered Contractor look up table to be maintained on the web. 
12. Proof of Liability Insurance and/or Workman’s Compensation 
13. Contractor Registration Penalties 
14. Suspension and Revocation of Registration. 
 
 
 
 
 



Contractors that are to be registered 
  

 Home Improvement Contractor.  This category will include all contractors that are 
involved in repair, remodeling, alteration, improvement, or addition to any 
building used as a private residence in one, two and three family structures. 

 
 OCILB Licensed Specialty Contractors.  This category is for contractors that are 

licensed by the State through the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board in 
the following fields: 

 
 Electrical contractor; 
 Plumbing contractor: 
 Heating, ventilating and air-conditioning (HVAC) contractor; 
 Hydronics (steam and hot water) contractor; 
 Refrigeration contractor 
 

 Building Construction Contractor.  This designation will apply to all other 
contractors that are not addressed in the two previous descriptions.  This 
classification shall also include the new construction of one, two and three family 
dwellings. 

 
Minimum information needed for registration. 
 

 Contractor Registration Application.  Completed and signed by the person chosen 
to be the responsible party for the company.   

 
 A Certificate of Liability Insurance.  Written by an insurance company licensed to 

do business in the State of Ohio with the limits of liability no less than one 
hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for damages to a single person, and three 
hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) for one (1) occurrence. 

 
 Proof of Ohio Workers’ Compensation coverage.   

 
 Assignment of Registration.  If assigning the registration to a business concern, a 

completed, signed and notarized Contractor Registration Assignment/Authorized 
Signer Form is required.  When an assignment is made, all documents are to be 
completed in the name of the business and a list of individuals that will be 
authorized to apply for permits in the name of said business must sign the form. 
Additional signature sheets may be attached as necessary.  Only persons whose 
signatures appear on the assignment form are authorized to sign permit 
applications. 

 
 Registered Contractor Sub List.  A general contractor shall provide with the 

request for Certificate of Occupancy a list of all subcontractors used on the 
project for which the Certificate of Occupancy is being sought. 

 



 Social Security Number/Federal Id Number.  If assigning the registration to a 
business concern, the Federal Taxpayer ID Number of that business concern or 
responsible party’s Social Security Number is required.  Paperwork that has 
omitted either of these pieces of identification will be returned without being 
processed.  Registration with the Income Tax Division will be processed from the 
application data. 

 
 Registration Fee:  The registration fee is $125.00.  Payment may be made in 

person or by mail to:  
 

Business Development and Permit Center 
Contractor Registration   
3300 Central Parkway  
Cincinnati, OH  45225 

 
Checks should be made payable to the “City of Cincinnati”.  Download a copy of the 
contractor registration package at: 
 www.cincinnati-oh.gov/bldginsp/downloads/bldginsp_pdf17931.pdf 
 
 
Expiration dates 
 

 A Contractor Registration can be issued for a one, two or three year period.   
 

 The expiration date of an OCILB Licensed Contractor Registration must coincide 
with the State license expiration date.  (Month and day)  If the State license 
Registration date expires on 1/31/2009, the Contractor Registration must expire 
on 1/31/2009. 

 
o FIRST TIME APPLICANTS ONLY (OCILB):  If the expiration date of 

the Contractor Registration License does not match the expiration date of 
the State license, an additional fee of $10.42 per month will be charged to 
bring the expiration date current with the expiration date of the State 
License. 

 
Company operating under more than one business name 
 

 Companies operating under more than one business name, with separate federal 
identification numbers, will need a separate contractor registration license for 
each legal entity. 

 
Contractor Registration with Multiple OCILB Licenses 
 

 Multiple License Holders for one Business 
o If a business has multiple OCILB License holders, each license holder will 

 be required to obtain a separate Contractor Registration License.   



 
 One individual with multiple State license  

o Only one Contractor Registration License will be required when that 
individual’s State Licenses are assigned to the same business entity as 
it appears on the OCILB web site, and the same business name is used 
on the Contractor Registration application. 

 
 One company with multiple State licensed individuals. 

 For each OCILB discipline that a company wishes to register, an active state 
license number must be provided. There will only be one licensed individual 
per application but that individual may have multiple licenses.  

o Example; Three (3) separate applications would be required where a 
company wishes to conduct business in all 5 OCILB disciplines and 

 Employee #1 maintains a State license in plumbing and 
hydronic piping.  

 Employee #2 is licensed in HVAC and refrigeration  
 Employee #3 is a licensed electrician. 

Notes: 
1. All State licenses must be assigned to the same business entity that is 

listed on the OCILB web site. 
2. Not every licensed employee of the company has to register, just one per 

discipline. 
 
 
 
Fees   
Please note that all fees associated with the Contractor Registration process are non-
refundable.  Due to the amount of paperwork involved with this process, we require 
that all paperwork be returned to us as a single package. 
 
 A license number is assigned at the time of original registration.  Any applicant who
 has been assigned a license number will not be reassigned a new license number. It is 
 required to maintain the original license number granted. If the license is in an expired 
 status, it must be renewed and not submitted as a new application.
 
  Registration: The fee for a contractor’s initial registration is $125.00 per year for 

up to 3 years.  
 

o Processing time for a complete application is a minimum of 10 days. If 
your information is incomplete and/or erroneous, the entire packet may be 
returned for corrections.  All resubmitted packets will begin the processing 
time again at day one. 

  
 Same Day Processing Service for Contractor Registration is now available for an 

additional $200.00 above the registration fee, late and/or reactivation fees.  It is 
the responsibility of the contractor to obtain approvals from the Income Tax 
Department.  Once approvals are obtained the registration will be issued and 
permits can be released. 

 



 Renewal: A contractor may renew a registration, without penalty, any time 
during the 60-day period preceding the expiration date.  Licenses can be renewed 
for up to three years at a cost of $125 per year. 

 
 Additional Fees: 

o First time registration will be assessed a $75.00 late fee for any incomplete 
application that remains on file for over 120 days. 

o Renewal applications, or corrected documents requested by City Staff, 
submitted within 30 days after the expiration date of the existing 
registration license will be assessed a $75 late fee. 

o A Contractor Registration License not renewed within 30 days after the 
expiration date will require a reactivation fee of $125.00 a year.  In 
addition, a $125.00 registration fee shall be due (minimum of one year 
renewal). 

o  An OCILB contractor registration shall also include applicable prorated 
fees of $10.42 for each month remaining until the expiration date 
coincides with their State license expiration date.   

 
 Changes to an Issued Registration.  

o Mid term changes to an existing, valid registration will be performed for a 
$75.00 fee. Changes shall include but not be limited to:  

 Reassignment of a registration 
 Add, change or substitute an insurance company  
 Addition/Deletion of authorized signatures   
 Add, change or delete an OCILB license holder 

 
 
Renewal and Expiration 
 

 A minimum of 60 days prior to the expiration date of a registration, a notification 
of renewal will be sent via U.S. mail to the registrant’s address of record. The 
registration must be renewed within the 60 days prior to the expiration date in 
order to remain in compliance with section 1106 of the Cincinnati Municipal 
Code. To reactivate an expired registration, please see “Additional Fees”. 

 
Inactive or Incomplete Applications  
 

 All required application components must be complete and correct prior to the 
issuance of a registration. Any incomplete application that remains on file for 
over 120 days will be moved to an expired status. Registration late fees will apply 
to all applications that have been moved to the expired status.   

 
Liability Insurance 
 

 Liability Insurance provides protection from claims arising from injuries or 
damage to other people or property. The Certificate of Liability Insurance shall be 



written by an insurance company licensed to do business in the State of Ohio with 
the limits of liability no less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for 
damages to a single person, and three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) for 
one (1) occurrence. 

 
Registration Exemptions 
 

 The owner of a one, two or three family dwelling shall be exempt from 
registration as long as the homeowner personally performs the work upon the 
premises and said owner will occupy the residence for at least one year. 

 
 Under such circumstances where the property owner is physically unable to work 

on the premises family members/volunteer(s) may assist with the work. This 
circumstance will be reviewed on an individual basis. 

 
 Maintenance work as described in CBC 1101.17, that is performed by the 

property owner would be allowable without registration.  
 

 An architect, professional engineer, or any other such person who is required by 
the Ohio Revised Code to attain standards of competency or experience is 
considered a professional service provider.  When such an individual is acting 
exclusively within the scope of the profession for which they are either licensed 
or registered, they are exempted from registration as a contractor. 

 
 
 
Landlords and Property Management Companies Exemptions 
 

 Work on rental property that is performed with contractor labor, whether it be 
maintenance work, repair or new construction, those contracting businesses shall 
be registered.   

 Regardless of the employee-contractor relationship there are certain maintenance 
jobs that must be performed by a State licensed contractor as to comply with the 
OCILB rules. Those contractors shall also be registered. 

 Landlords with maintenance staff that are actually employees of the property 
rental business are not being viewed as contractors and will not be required to 
register as such. {As a bases for this interpretation , please review CBC Section 
1105-13.4(c)}  

 
Registered Contractor look up table to be maintained on the web. 
 

 As a consumer protection component and in the interest of public safety, a 
registered contractor look up table will be maintained and available for reference 
on the department web site at:  

  http://cagis.hamilton-co.org/opal/registeredContractors.aspx?entcode=cinc  
 



Proof of Liability Insurance and/or Workman’s Compensation  
 Liability insurance is a requirement of all registrants and proof of such will be 

required at the time of registration. OCILB State licensed contractors are required 
to provide proof of their insurance coverage at the state level upon renewal of 
their license therefore proof at the time of city registration will be encouraged, but 
is not necessary. 

 
 Workers Compensation Coverage:  

o Those sole proprietors and business entities with no employees, that are 
not required by State law to carry OBWC coverage will not be required to 
provide proof of coverage at the time of registration.  

o The State of Ohio recognizes the compensation coverage of all other states 
through a reciprocal interstate agreement. Long-term work periods, 
exceeding 90 days may require the applicant to complete an OBWC 
election form.  

o Please refer your questions to the Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation  
 
Contractor Registration Penalties  
 

 Whoever violates any provision of Chapter 1106 of the Cincinnati Municipal 
Code will be subject to a series of penalties with the first violation being a written 
citation that carries a $500.00 fine.  

 
 This first citation can be appealed through the administrative hearing process 

where the contractor will be given the option to become registered and have the 
fine reduced to $250. A second violation of the ordinance will result in a $1,000 
fine and the contractor will be ineligible to register under this chapter for a period 
of one year from the date of the violation. 

 
 Violating any provision of Chapter 1106 of the Cincinnati Municipal Code shall 

include but not be limited to: 
o Not being registered and performing contracting work in the city limits. 
o Not renewing an expired registration. 
o Allowing one of the required provisions of the registration to lapse or 

expire, such as:  
 Liability insurance coverage 
 Workers’ Compensation coverage 
 Account in good standing with the City Income Tax Division. 

 
Suspension and Revocation of Registration 
 

 Any registration as provided for in this chapter may be revoked, suspended or 
refused by the chief building official for good cause shown including, but not 
limited to the following: 

 
o Misrepresentation or false statement made in obtaining a registration; 



o Any violation of a provision of this chapter or of the rules and regulations 
promulgated hereunder, or failure to comply with any provision of this 
chapter or of the rules and regulations promulgated hereunder or lawful 
order of the chief building official; 

o Any failure to comply with the provisions of this chapter, the laws and 
regulations of the State of Ohio, or the ordinances of the City of 
Cincinnati, the CBC or failure to provide the level of services set forth in 
the application and by the chief building official; 

o The registration holder used its registration to obtain a permit for another; 
o The registration holder failed to secure permits, inspections and approvals 

required by the OBC or the CBC; 
o The registration holder repeatedly installed work in an unworkmanlike 

manner or not in conformity with permits issued; 
o The holder repeatedly has been notified of violations of the OBC or the 

CBC and, has failed or refused to promptly correct any violation or part of 
it; 

o There have been repeated incidents of returned checks for insufficient 
funds or stop payment without just cause. 

o If the chief building official determines that probable grounds exist for 
denial, suspension, or revocation of a registration, that registrant shall be 
notified as outlined in CMC Section 1106-27. 

   


